Delirium- Lauren Oliver

I’d like to start off by saying I started this book yesterday around 3pm and had it finished at 11pm. I did lots of adulting that day as you can tell, but what a great way to spend a friday night off. Clearly I loved this book since I could barley but it down.

699853

Its my first dystopian series since hunger games so maybe it helps that I haven’t discovered others. The idea of love being diseased and cured through a surgery is a very new idea. Her little pieces above each chapter added such perfection to the story. The fact that many history problems were because of love which is silly in reality actually made me go well its possible xD

Her writing was awesome, she painted the scenes perfectly I didn’t even had to just kind of guess what was going on.

“The water is an enormous mirror, tipped with and pink and gold from the sky. In that single, blazing moment as I came around the bend, the sun – curved over the dip of the horizon like a solid gold archway – lets out its final winking rays of light, shattering the darkness of the water, turning everything white for a fraction of a second, and then falls away, sinking, dragging the pink and the red and the purple out of the sky with it, all the colour bleeding away instantly and leaving only dark.

Alex was right. It was gorgeous – one of the best I’ve ever seen.”

 

^one of my favorite parts it was so pretty in my head.

I know some people had problems with Lena being portrayed as “weak”. I really enjoyed Lena and felt she was real. It’s totally normal to be scared against things that are illegal but you suck it up for friends. <*spoiler*>I hope she grows as the books go on and that she maybe even rescues Alex, Hana and Gracie the only others I liked. <*/spoiler*>

Alex is the perfect guy pretty much so far and his ties to the wilds are obviously going to come back up. Hana is actually probably my favorite so far I almost wish I had seen more of her, but I’m guessing she’ll come back in book two from my brief skim this morning.

So overall what an excellent book that had an original story to me anyways. I can’t wait to pick up book two. I’m only waiting because I know I won’t be able to put it down once I start if it’s anything like the first one.

Can I just say though the ending killed me, I knew something major was going to happen, but why why did they have to separate. I knew he would do something amazing for her though, that’s love:p

499635

Leave a Reply

